Choose your language:

ann0928-en-gb — Announcement

The ESO web site is now available in twelve languages

18 September 2009

As of today, 18 September 2009, ESO is pleased to announce that important parts of its extensive website have been translated into eleven European languages, covering all ESO member states as well as some additional countries. Many more readers will now be able to learn all about ESO's impressive telescopes and projects in their own languages. These include the most advanced observing facility in the world, the Very Large Telescope, as well as the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array and the planned European Extremely Large Telescope. ESO press releases will also now be available in these languages, in addition to descriptions of ESO-related events taking place in the ESO member states.

This new service is courtesy of the ESO Science Outreach Network (ESON), a network of individuals in several countries — including all the ESO member states — who serve as local contacts for the media and the general public in connection with ESO developments, press releases, exhibitions and more. The ESON members also serve as useful contacts between the media and scientists in their respective regions, and as such are valuable ambassadors in the member states.

The new, dedicated websites are available for readers from Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland, as well as for Chile. In addition, there are also ESON contacts in Ireland, the United Kingdom and the USA.

Links

The ESON page with links to the mini-sites is at: http://www.eso.org/public/outreach/eson/

Contacts

Henri Boffin
ESO ePOD, Garching, Germany
Tel: +49 89 3200 6222
E-mail: hboffin@eso.org

Lars Lindberg Christensen
ESO ePOD, Garching, Germany
Tel: +49 89 3200 6761
Cellular: +49 173 3872 621
E-mail: lars@eso.org

Peter Habison
Direktor, Astronomie Wien, Austria
Tel: +43 (1) 729 54 94
E-mail:: peter.habison@astronomie-wien.at

Rodrigo Alvarez
Planetarium, Royal Observatory of Belgium
Tel.: +32-2-474 70 50
E-mail: rodrigo.alvarez@oma.be

Valeria Foncea
ESO Santiago Office, Chile
Tel: +56-2-463-3123
E-mail: vfoncea@eso.org

Pavel Suchan
Astronomical Institute ASCR, Czech Republic
Tel.: +420 267 103 040
E-mail: suchan@ig.cas.cz or suchan@astro.cz

Michael Linden-Vørnle
Tycho Brahe Planetarium, Copenhagen, Denmark
Tel.: +45-33-18 19 97
E-mail: mykal@tycho.dk

Riitta Tirronen
Academy of Finland
Tel.: +358 9 7748 8369, +358 40 828 1724
E-mail: riitta.tirronen@aka.fi

Thierry Botti
Observatoire Astronomique Marseille Provence, France
Tel.: +33-04 95 04 41 06
E-mail: thierry.botti@oamp.fr

Markus Poessel
Haus der Astronomie/Max-Planck-Institut fuer Astronomie, Germany
Tel: +49 6221 528-261
E-mail: poessel@mpia-hd.mpg.de

Clair McSweeney
Blackrock Castle Observatory, Cork, Ireland
Tel:+353 21 4357917
E-mail: clairmcsweeney@bco.ie

Stefano Sandrelli
Italian National Institute for Astrophysics (INAF), Italy
Tel: + 39 (0)2 72320337
Cellular: + 39 338 7317748
E-mail: Stefano.Sandrelli@brera.inaf.it

Marieke Baan
NOVA Outreach Office, Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Tel.: +31-20-525 74 80
E-mail: mbaan@science.uva.nl

Andreas O. Jaunsen
Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, Oslo, Norway
Tel: +47 22 85 70 22
E-mail: a.o.jaunsen@astro.uio.no

João Fernandes
Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Tel.: +35 1 239 791150
E-mail: jmfernan@mat.uc.pt

Miguel Mas-Hesse
Centro de Astrobiologia (CAB; CSIC-INTA), 28691 Villanueva de la Cañada, Spain
Tel.: +34 91 813 11 96
E-mail: mm@laeff.inta.es

Robert Cumming
Institutionen för astronomi, University of Stockholm, Sweden
Tel.: +46-8-5537 8542
E-mail: robert@astro.su.se

Martin Steinacher
Staatssekretariat für Bildung und Forschung, Bern, Switzerland
Tel.: +41-31-324 23 82
E-mail: martin.steinacher@sbf.admin.ch

Julia Maddock
Science and Technology Facilities Council, UK
E-mail: julia.maddock@stfc.ac.uk

Paola Rebusco
MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research, Cambridge, USA
Tel.:+1-617-308-2397 or +1-617-253-7611
E-mail: prebusco@eso.org or pao@space.mit.edu

Bookmark and Share

About the Announcement

Id:ann0928