Tycho Brahe Prize at JENAM 2010

Raymond Wilson (left), the founder and original leader of the Optics and Telescopes Group at ESO, receives the Tycho Brahe Prize from Joachim Krautter, President of the European Astronomical Society, during the Joint European and National Astronomy Meeting (JENAM) in Lisbon, Portugal, 6–10 September 2010. Raymond Wilson was a pioneer in optics research at ESO, developing  the "active optics" technology that made today’s giant telescopes possible. The Tycho Brahe Prize was created by the European Astronomical Society in recognition of the development or exploitation of European instruments, or major discoveries based largely on such instruments.



About the Image

Release date:1 February 2011, 18:24
Size:3453 x 2250 px

About the Object

Name:Award, Conference, Meeting
Type:Unspecified : People : Scientist
Category:People and Events

Image Formats

Large JPEG
1.1 MB
Screensize JPEG
171.8 KB


Also see our