"Galaxies at Crossroads: Outflows and IMF in the VLT/ELT/ALMA/JWST Era", Brno, Czech Republic, 16-20 September 2024

Published: 31 May 2024

ESO is excited to announce that registration and abstract submission for the ESO conference "Galaxies at Crossroads: Outflows and IMF in the VLT/ELT/ALMA/JWST Era" (GALCROSS) are now open. The conference will be held in Brno, Czech Republic, from 16-20 September 2024. The conference will explore the dynamic processes shaping galaxies, particularly gas outflows, and critically examine important factors like the Initial Mass Function (IMF), ultimately analyzing their reciprocal influence on the chemical enrichment of both stellar and gas components. This event is a unique opportunity to merge theoretical insights and observational breakthroughs, sparked by the latest data from cutting-edge astronomical instruments. The focus is on dissecting the complex interplay between galactic outflows/inflows, the Initial Mass Function (IMF), and the intricate mass-metallicity relationship, all of which are key to understanding the cosmic tapestry of galaxy formation and evolution.

The workshop aims to bridge the gap between observational challenges and theoretical models in galaxy evolution. By promoting a deeper understanding of the underlying processes and encouraging collaborations, it aspires to pave the way for breakthroughs and novel insights in astrophysics.

Workshop’s themes:

  • Galactic Outflows and Feedback.
  • The Variable Stellar Initial Mass Function.
  • The Mass-Metallicity Relation (MZR).
  • Innovations in Observational Astronomy.

See more information on the Conference web page: https://www.eso.org/sci/meetings/2024/galcross.html

Important dates:

  • Registration open: 23 May 2024
  • Deadline for registration and abstract submission: 21June 2024
  • Abstract selection results: 8 July 2024
  • Payment deadline: 19 August 2024
  • Workshop: 16-20 September 2024
Invited confirmed speakers and discussion panel members:
  • Alina Boecker (University of Vienna)
  • Michele Cirasuolo (ESO)
  • Natascha Foerster Schreiber (MPE)
  • Fillipo Fraternali (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute)
  • Michaela Hirschmann (EPFL)
  • Andrew Hopkins (Macquarie University)
  • Pavel Jachym (Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Vincenzo Mainieri (ESO)
  • Ignacio Martin-Navarro (IAC)
  • Sergio Martin-Alvarez (KIPAC Institute of Stanford University)
  • Francesca Primas (ESO)
  • Alice Strom (Northwestern University)
  • Zhiqiang Yan (Nanjing University)

Scientific Organising Committee:

Alice Concas (ESO co-chair), Tereza Jerabkova (ESO co-chair), Belen Alcalde (ESO), Lucial Armillotta (Princeton University), Andre Bolamberti (University of Padua), Pavel Jachym (Czech Academy of Sciences), Ivanna Langan (ESO), Filipo Mannucci (INAF Arcetri), Jorryt Matthee (ISTA), Dontella Romano (INAF Bologna), Ivo Saviane (ESO), Glenn Van de Ven (University of Vienna), Norbert Werner (Masaryk University)

Local Organising Committee:

Andrea Bolamperti (University of Padua), Alice Concas (ESO co-chair), Tereza Jerabkova (ESO co-chair), Ivanna Langan (ESO co-chair), Matúš Labaj (Masaryk University), Tomáš Plšek (Masaryk University), Denisa Tako (ESO Assistant), Norbert Werner (Masaryk University), Michal Zajaček (Masaryk University)