ESO User Portal Frequently Asked Questions

Delegation-Related Questions

What is delegation?
Delegation is a process by which the Principle Investigator of an observing run or the owner of a Phase 3 programme grants different access rights to another User Portal registrant. The rights granted in this manner depend on the type of delegation granted:
  • Phase 2 delegates are granted the ability to use P2PP to make observing preparations for the corresponding run as if they were the Principle Investigator.
  • Data Access delegates can download from the Science Archive Facility proprietary data from the run.
  • Phase 3 delegates can create collections within the corresponding programme and create releases within the collections of that programme. In addition, they may perform data upload into those collections/releases. The ability to certify that the release is complete is reserved for the Phase 3 programme owner, and cannot be delegated.
What is the difference between Phase 2 access delegation and data access delegation?
  • Through Phase 2 delegation the PI of an observing run allows a single user to make observing preparations using their own User Portal account credentials rather than those of the PI herself/himself, using the tools P2PP (version 3+) and vOT (the latter being for Paranal Visitor Mode only).
  • By means of data delegation the PI grants access to the proprietary data from a run to one or more users.
It is important to note that there is no implied connection between these sorts of delegation! That is, a Phase 2 delegate does not have any special access to data from a run, and data delegates cannot use their own User Portal account to make observation preparations for a run. It is thus very important when making a delegation to be aware of which type of delegation is being granted.
I have made a delegation, but my colleague does not see the run in P2PP. What is wrong?
There are (at least) two possible explanations for this.
  • The delegate needs to tick on File > Download/Refresh Obs. runs in P2PP.
  • The form of delegation that was granted is incorrect. That is, data access delegation was granted rather than Phase 2 delegation. This can of course be fixed by simply delegating to the colleague Phase 2 access rights (note here that since there can only be one such delegate if one already exists you will be asked if you wish to replace the current one).
I have made a delegation, but my colleague cannot download my proprietary data. What is wrong?
There is a simple explanation for this. Namely, the form of delegation that was granted is incorrect. That is, Phase 2 access delegation was granted rather than data access delegation. This can of course be fixed by simply delegating to your colleague data access rights.
I'm not able to set up a Phase 2 delegation for my La Silla run. Why is this so?
Phase 2 delegation is tied directly to version 3.X of P2PP. Since this version of P2PP is not in use for La Silla it is unfortunately not possible for a PI to delegate Phase 2 access for such runs.
The page tells me that the email address I've entered in the delegation email address field is invalid, but I know it's correct. What is going on?
The e-mail address that you supply must match the one that your delegate is using in their ESO User Portal Profile. If in doubt, consult your colleague for the correct address.
Can I delegate proprietary data access rights to more than one person?
Yes. There is no limit to the number of people to whom you can grant access to your proprietary data.
Can I delegate Phase 2 rights to more than one person?
No. Any given run can only have one person as Phase 2 delegate.
Can I delegate Phase 3 access rights to more than one person?
Yes. There is no limit to the number of people to whom you can grant Phase 3 access rights.
When I delegate some right (Phase 2, proprietary data access, Phase 3) do I give up my own rights?
No, you always retain your own rights.
I have been designated as a delegate. As a delegate can I make a further delegation?
Sorry, but "sub-delegations" are not possible.
When does the delegation (or revocation) take effect?
Immediately upon clicking the corresponding delegate, delegate all, revoke, or revoke all button.