Kavli Prize in Astrophysics for 2010

The prestigious Kavli Prize in Astrophysics for 2010 was awarded to Jerry Nelson, Raymond Wilson and Roger Angel (from left to right) for their contribution to the development of giant telescopes. While Nelson and Angel pioneered the use of segmentation in primary mirrors, Wilson — who joined ESO in 1972 — developed the technique of active optics and led the implementation of this technique in the revolutionary New Technology Telescope (NTT).

More info in ESO press release 1022: http://www.eso.org/public/news/eso1022/



About the Image

Release date:1 February 2011, 11:39
Size:4448 x 2872 px

About the Object

Type:Unspecified : People
Category:People and Events

Image Formats

Large JPEG
2.2 MB
Screensize JPEG
158.3 KB